w Stagecraft Awards 2013 - Stagecraft Theatre
All play, no work!

Stagecraft Awards 2013

Awards 2013

On the night of January 13th, 2013 the Stagecraft Theatre Awards was buzzing with excitement as it was not only the second year of the awards but also the 10 years anniversary celebration, having staged 50 productions and done more than 100 shows since the year 2002.

The ceremony commenced with Vikash Khurana, welcoming everyone and addressing the guests about the journey of stagecraft theatre and encouraging the new talent to come up with more creative ideas to keep the essence of drama alive in the city.

The first round of awards were the technical awards. The” Kacchi Kali” awards for the most promising debut were bagged by Amol Wakhare and Tanaya Chakravorty for their performance in the Magical Adventures of Ranji. The “Jugaad” award for exemplary backstage management was given to Abhinav Singh for the play Jamaica Inn. A special award was introduced called the “Parde ke Peechhe kya hai” award, which had a unique story about getting trapped behind the curtains during one of the shows and it was proudly received by Anurag Kulkarni. Anurag also got the award for exemplary music and sound effects for OZ – the rock opera.

Nandan Majumdar won the “Blackout” award for his impeccable timing in light effects for Magical Adventures of Ranji. The “Break a leg” award for best choreography was bagged by Sonal Trivedi for her wonderful and foot-tapping dances in OZ- the rock opera. The “Bikini” award for the best short play, performed in Stagecraft Adda was won by Raveesh Jaiswal for writing, directing and acting in his play The Walnut Street, which got a maximum number of votes from the audience, amongst the ten plays. The audience thoroughly enjoyed listening to the experiences shared by all the winners in their plays and applauded generously for their achievements.

The next set of awards were the mainstream awards. Happiness and excitement were visible on the faces of all the nominees. The Best Actor in a Negative role was bagged by Bianca Nazareth Arya for her jaw-dropping performance in OZ whereas Supantha Bhattacharya took away the best actor in a comic role for his hilarious comedy in Magical Adventures of Ranji.

Ketaki Kane Salankar and Nandan Majumdar won the best actors in supporting role for their intense and intricate performances in Jamaica Inn and Oz respectively.

Best actors in the lead role were taken by the doe-eyed beauty Anamika Sawarkar for her breath taking performance as Dorothy in Oz-the rock opera and Lalit Khullar for his highly entertaining role in Gossip.

OZ- the rock opera won a maximum number of awards including the Best Play, which was received by none other than the man behind the existence of Stagecraft theatre, Mr Vikash Khurana. He congratulated each and everyone for their hard work. The award ceremony and the anniversary celebration ended on a high note with some fabulous dance performances by the members of team stagecraft including Sparsh bhure, Mohana Mohture, Raveesh Jaiswal, Abhishek, Pranjala Chauhan, Pankhuri Shukla and Sonal Trivedi, which left the audience in a very energetic mood. All the members who have been a part of stagecraft since its inception were present to grace the occasion.

About the Author

A teacher with a passion for art. She mouths dialogues & croons. With other miscellaneous talents, she will have you dancing to her tune.

Leave a Reply